ROLLA, Mo. – Another record number for the work done in the classroom was achieved by Missouri S&T in the 2017-18 academic year as 27 student-athletes were named today by the Great Lakes Valley Conference as recipients of the Council of Presidents Academic Excellence Award.

The Council of Presidents Academic Excellence awards – given this year to 349 student-athletes from the GLVC's 15 institutions -- are presented to student-athletes who have completed their athletic eligibility in their sports and played at least two seasons in the conference, all while maintaining a 3.5 or better cumulative grade point average at the conclusion of the 2018 spring semester. 

The 349-member list was headed by nine individuals that completed their collegiate careers with a 4.0 grade point average, two of which hailed from Missouri S&T.  Lauren Flowers, a member of the Miner volleyball team and an Academic All-America selection in 2017, was among the nine as was Amalia Tettambel from the women's soccer program.

Five seniors from Missouri S&T's men's track & field team – Morgan Cornish, Ben Krause, Tyler Percy, Kole Rakers and Lucas Rosenbaum – as well as five from the football team made up the most from the 12 S&T teams that were represented, with Percy and Rakers also along the cross country team members named.  The football players named were Bret Curtis, Joe Mersinger, Drake Randall, Ashton Smith and Austin Truvillion, as were three apiece from the men's and women's soccer teams, volleyball team and women's track & field program.

Aaron Hohenstein, Martin Klevjer and Garrett Trautman were the men's soccer representatives, while the women's soccer players named were Tettambel, Riley Cronin and Madison Morris.  Megan Schulte – who also competed in cross country – was joined by teammates Madison Calvin and Anne Massey in women's track, while the three volleyball representatives were Flowers, Ashley Allegri and Alexis White.

This year's list of Council of Presidents Academic Excellence Awards also included Kati Viets and Monica Weiss from the softball team, Nathan Volkmann from the baseball team, Janie Arand from the women's basketball program and Stuart Mossop from the swimming team.