Fourth-seeded Wolves top sixth-seeded Belle in consolation finals.

The fourth-seeded Newburg High School boys’ basketball team captured the fifth-place title of the Richland Holiday Tournament by beating sixth-seeded Belle 61-42 on Monday.

In the third-place game Monday third-seeded Steelville got past fifth-seeded Bourbon 70-63 and in the championship game second-seeded Iberia knocked off top-seeded Eugene 63-56.

On Monday Newburg roared out to a 18-9 lead after the first period and was in front the rest of the way. It was 30-21 at halftime and 44-29 entering the fourth quarter.

Caleb Wofford, a 5-11 junior forward, had 17 points to lead the Newburg Wolves while junior guard Ryan Ward added 14.

Lane Sanders led Belle with 13.

The Wolves are scheduled to host Skyline at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 6.

Newburg: Wofford 17, R. Ward 14, T. Gaedke 9, Reagan 8, Brinkley 4, M. Gaedke 4, W. Ward 3, Terry 2.
Belle: Sanders 13, Hinson 10, Wilson 8.

Friday                                                                                                      Bourbon 62, Newburg 60
The game was tied with 13 seconds remaining before Bourbon canned a baseline jumper at the buzzer for the victory.

Bourbon led 16-13 after the first period and went into halftime up 33-30. Each team scored 11 points in the third period, with Newburg heading into the final quarter trailing 44-41.

Junior guard Ryan Ward fired in 24 points for the Wolves while junior forward Caleb Wofford had 12 points and sophomore guard Trey Gaedke 10.

Jacob Fritz netted 23 and Drake Nilges 15 for Bourbon.

Newburg: R. Ward 24, Wofford 12, T. Gaedke 10, Reagan 6, W. Ward 4, Brinkley 4.
Bourbon: Fritz 23, Nilges 15, Sappington 9.

Newburg 62, Laquey 22
In consolation action on Saturday the Wolves bolted to a 21-7 lead after the first period and was in control the rest of the way. It was 47-16 at halftime and 55-18 heading into the fourth period.

R. Ward tallied 19 points for Newburg while T. Gaedke had 13.

Newburg: R. Ward 19, T. Gaedke 13, M. Gaedke 7, Wofford 6, Reagan 6, W. Ward 4, Terry 4, Prewett 3.
Laquey: Powers 9, Tony Crismon 4, Clubb 3, Lunsford 2, Joy 2, Benak 2.