Wednesday was the deadline for candidates to submit their statements of candidacy for the open City Council and School Board seats.

St. James City Council Wards 1-4 seats carry two-year terms, according to City Clerk Sarah Wheeler.

Voting for Wards 1-3 will be held at Nelson Hart Community Hall, and the Ward 4 polling station is located at the St. James VFW.

Incumbent Jim White is running unopposed in Ward 2.

In Ward 4, Jim Morrison and Nathanael Siders were running against incumbent Don Moore.

In Ward 3, Dale Garver was running unopposed, as current councilman Dave Watkins has decided not to run again.

In Ward 1, incumbent Alan Sachs was running unopposed.

Also running unopposed for Municipal Court Judge is current Judge Richard Skouby.

According to Ashley Redburn at the St. James School District, there are four candidates in the running for the two open seats on the School Board.

Incumbent Tina Stowers, Carl Behr, Errica Hartley, and Tonia Yowell-Mendenhall have announced their candidacy.

Those who receive the highest number of votes on election day will serve three-year terms, and if elected, new board members must complete 16 hours of approved in-service training during the first year of their term.

Edgar Springs

R-3 School Board

There were three people who filed for two spots available on the Phelps County R-III School Distict Board.

Eva Caroline Bradford, incumbent, filed along with Justin Burrus and Kim Porter.

Incumbent board member Bob Luttrell did not refile.

R-III school board members serve three-year terms.