ROLLA, Mo. – A challenging schedule featuring eight home matches is among the many highlights for the Missouri S&T women's soccer team's upcoming 2018 season.

The 2018 slate consists of 16 regular-season contests to go along with a season-opening exhibition match in late August.
 
"As always the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) schedule is extremely competitive and with the changes (14 GLVC teams) in the conference this year I believe should prove to be even more challenging," said S&T head coach Joe McCauley, who enters his 10th season at Missouri S&T with start of the 2018 campaign.  "We have a good non-conference schedule to help us prepare (for the conference matches) and are looking forward to this fall."
 
The Lady Miners will play 13 GLVC matches with seven of those to be held at the S&T Soccer Field in Rolla.  Three non-conference encounters, which will be held in early September, are also on the docket.  
 
The action gets underway Friday, Aug. 24, with a 7 p.m. (CT) exhibition against in-state foe Missouri Southern State in Joplin, Mo.
 
S&T will begin its regular season at home Sunday, Sept. 2, taking on Christian Brothers in a 12 p.m. non-league tilt before traveling to St. Charles, Mo., for non-conference matches versus Emporia State on Friday, Sept. 7, at 2:30 p.m. and host Lindenwood (Mo.) on Sunday, Sept. 9, at 11 a.m.  
 
The Lady Miners open the conference portion of their 2018 slate Friday, Sept. 14, going up against Bellarmine at 5 p.m. as the remaining 12 matches are all GLVC encounters.  Following the Bellarmine contest, S&T visits Quincy Sunday, Sept. 16, in a 12 p.m. league matchup.  The Lady Miners return home Friday, Sept. 21 to battle Southern Indiana at 5 p.m. before going back on the road to Springfield, Ill., Sunday, Sept. 23, with rival Drury providing the opposition in a 12 p.m. match.
 
S&T will then play five of its next six contests at home, starting with three consecutive home matches.  The first is Friday, Sept. 28, against William Jewell at 5 p.m. proceeded by a 12 p.m. outing versus Rockhurst on Sunday, Sept. 30.  The Lady Miners wrap up the three-game home stand Friday, Oct. 5, as Missouri-St. Louis (UMSL) visits S&T Field for a  5 p.m. match.  Next on tap is a trip to Truman State Sunday, Oct. 7, at 12 p.m.       
 
A pair of home matches represents S&T's next competition as the Lady Miners tangle with McKendree on Friday, Oct. 12 at 5 p.m. to open the weekend action.  S&T's final regular-season home contest will be Sunday, Oct. 14, against Illinois-Springfield (UIS) at 12 p.m.
 
A trio of league road outings concludes the regular-season campaign, starting with Lewis on Friday, Oct. 19, at 5 p.m.  The Lady Miners compete at Indianapolis Sunday, Oct. 21, in a 12 p.m. tilt before playing against Maryville Wednesday, Oct. 24, in a 5 p.m. regular-season finale.   
 
The eight-team GLVC Tournament is set to begin Sunday, Oct. 28 with the quarterfinal matchups on campus sites.  The tournament semifinals commence on Friday, Nov. 2 with the finals scheduled for Sunday, Nov. 4.
 
Three of S&T's 2018 opponents were NCAA Regional Tournament qualifiers a season ago in 2017 GLVC Tournament Champion McKendree along with Bellarmine and Quincy.  The Lady Miners' opposition for this upcoming fall registered a combined 135-108-47 record (.547 winning percentage) last season.