ROLLA, Mo. – Missouri S&T running back Deshawn Jones (Olympia Fields, IL/Rich Central), who set a number of school records during the course of the recently completed 2017 season, is one of nine players from NCAA Division II's Super Region 3 nominated for the Harlon Hill Award.

The Harlon Hill award is given annually to the top player in NCAA Division II -- the division's equivalent to the Heisman Trophy – and Jones was nominated on the strength of a season in which he set new S&T and Great Lakes Valley Conference rushing records.

Jones led the GLVC in rushing with a school record 1,579 yards and 16 touchdowns this season and was a unanimous pick to the first team following a year in which his rushing total also ranked third in NCAA Division II during the regular season.  The 1,579 yards – the most in a regular season in GLVC history – also included a a school and league record 275 yards in a win over Saint Francis (Ill.) in October.

He became the first player in GLVC history to rush for over 100 yards against every GLVC team during a season and finished the year by clearing the 100-yard mark in each of the Miners' final nine games.  Jones also had a 211-yard performance against McKendree and ran for 191 in the season finale against Quincy among his five games with at least 150 yards on the year.

In that season finale, Jones broke the school's single game record by rushing for five touchdowns which he did in the first half of that contest.

The other Super Region 3 nominees are quarterbacks Brook Boiles of Central Missouri, Jake Purichia of Indianapolis, Barrett Renner of Southern Arkansas and Travis Tarnowski of Ashland; running back Kenneth Iheme of Fort Hays State, wide receivers Drew Harris of Ouachita Baptist and J.T. Luper of Central Oklahoma and defensive end Zach Sieler of Ferris State.

Jones is one of only three sophomores among the 34 nominees nationwide for the award along with Colorado School of Mines running back Cameron Mayberry and Edinboro running back Walter Fletcher.