Five St. James Tigers named all-league.

Five members of the St. James High School baseball team were named to the All-Four Rivers Conference Team, which was announced earlier this month.

St. James Tigers selected to the All-FRC First-Team were senior infielder Nathan Strait and senior catcher Justin Ray. Strait was one of 10 players who were unanimous selections.

Tigers chosen to the all-league second-team were senior pitcher Zach Dean, junior infielder Zack Russell and freshman utility player Evan Grayson.

Strait batted .333 with 25 hits, 12 runs scored, seven doubles, two homers, 25 RBI and a .507 slugging percentage.

Ray batted .395 with 30 hits, three doubles, and 10 RBI.

Grayson led the team with a .405 average with 32 hits and 12 RBI.
Russell batted .315 with 23 hits.

Dean had a 3-2 record with a 1.64 ERA. In 38.3 innings he allowed 29 hits, nine earned runs, 16 walks and fanned 44.

Sullivan junior Jake Lochner was named the FRC Player of the Year. On the mound Lochner was 8-2 with a 0.75 ERA, allowing 24 hits and five earned runs over 46.7 innings while walking 24 and striking out 90. At the plate Lochner batted .384 with 38 hits, four doubles, 10 RBI and 10 stolen bases on 12 attempts.

St. James finished 9-14 overall and was tied for third in the FRC race with a 4-3 record.

The Sullivan Eagles were the undefeated FRC champions while Pacific finished second in the league standings.

The 2014 All-Four Rivers Conference baseball team:

First Team
Pitcher: Jake Lochner, jr., Sullivan*; Grant Ruediger, sr., Hermann*; Sam Kraus, sr., Sullivan.
Catcher: Hunter Finney, soph., Pacific*; Justin Ray, sr., St. James.
Infielder: Cullen Stockley, sr., Sullivan*; Ben Held, sr., Hermann*; Matt Foster, jr., Sullivan*; Nathan Strait, sr., St. James*; Ross Seitter, sr., New Haven.
Outfielder: Nick Schumaker, sr., Union*; James Howie, jr., Pacific*; Hank Vandaveer, sr., Pacific*; Heath Schatz, jr., Sullivan; Kyle Ruediger, jr., New Haven.
Utility: Kody Halmich, soph., St. Clair.

*-Unanimous selection
Player of the Year: Jake Lochner, Sullivan.

Second Team
Pitcher: Zach Dean, sr., St. James; Trey Fink, sr., Union.
Catcher: Austin Farris, sr., Sullivan; Garrett Schoenfeld, sr., New Haven; Drew Reed, fr., Union.
Infielder: Tanner Bunch, jr., Union; Zack Russell, jr., St. James.
Outfielder: Ryan Howell, jr., Pacific.
Utility: Evan Grayson, fr., St. James; Jake Oermann, sr., St. Clair.

Four Rivers Conference standings:
1. Sullivan, 7-0
2. Pacific, 6-1
3. St. James, 4-3
3. Union, 4-3
5. Hermann, 3-3
6. St. Clair, 2-5
7. New Haven, 1-5
8. Owensville, 1-6