Steelville native Jason Chipman will square off against Shawn Sisco for state representative of Missouri's 120th Legislative District.

Steelville native Jason Chipman will square off against Shawn Sisco for state representative of Missouri’s 120th Legislative District.
Both Chipman and Sisco will be on the Republican ticket in the August primary.
The 120th District covers most of Crawford County and the eastern portion of Phelps County, including St. James. Since Congressman Jason Smith (R-MO) was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives last June, the seat has not been filled.
Chipman lives in St. James with his wife, Elane, and their four children. A graduate of Steelville High School, Chipman served in the U.S. Navy for five years and currently works at Brewer Science as an inventory manager.
Chipman holds an associate’s degree from East Central College and a bachelor’s degree in organizational leadership from Drury University.
In a recent press release, Chipman wrote that his top priority “is to ensure families are at the center of all legislation and that they are at liberty to make their own decisions on how to best take care of themselves.
“This is accomplished through strong leadership that reduces waste, preserves property rights, and prohibits needless regulations,” he added.
Sisco Sisco, 50, owns a mobile home park – Lakeside Community between Rolla and St. James.
He told the Daily News in February he wanted to run because he was “disturbed with the direction of an ever-growing and more intrusive government.” He added, “I looked for a place that I could e­ffect change.”
Sisco is married to Denise, and the couple has one daughter, a son-in-law, and a grandson.
Running on the Democratic ticket are Robert Mesger, of Sullivan, and Zechariah (Zech) Hockersmith, of St. James.
The primary election will be held Aug. 5, and the general election is scheduled for Nov. 4.
Sisco was also the GOP nominee for the 120th District state representative for a special election that also will be held Aug. 5 to fill the vacant seat for the remainder of this year. Hockersmith was chosen as the Democratic nominee for the special election.