Most county incumbents file Tuesday

Some races for local associate circuit judges formed in Phelps County within the first two hours of filing Tuesday, the first day individuals could declare their candidacy for several state and county offices.
The first six people to file Tuesday morning at the county clerk’s office were all incumbents. Two of them were judges filing to retain their seats.
Republican Robin Kordes was the first person to file to keep her position as the county recorder of deeds.
Then, Democrat Ken Clayton filed for associate circuit judge for Division 2, followed by Democrat Ron White who filed for associate circuit judge for Division 1 and probate and Republican Sue Brown to keep her seat as the circuit court clerk.
Davis Haas, a Democrat, filed to continue serving as county collector and Carol Green, a Republican, filed to keep her seat as treasurer.
After those six incumbents, Brian Woolley, a local attorney and Ward 5 council member on the Rolla City Council, filed as a Republican for associate circuit judge for Division 1 and probate.
Randy Verkamp, a Democrat, filed to keep his seat as the presiding county commissioner.
Brendon Fox filed to run as county prosecutor as a Republican. John Beger, a Republican of Rolla, who is currently serving as county prosecutor, filed at 12:18 p.m. at the secretary of state’s office for the circuit judge position in the 25th Circuit, Division 2.
Also up for election this year is county clerk, but Democrat Carol Bennett, who has served in the position for more than four terms, announced earlier this year that she will not seek re-election.
MaryAnn Rasmussen, who has worked in the county clerk’s office since 1986, was the first person to file for the county clerk office. Rasmussen filed as a Republican.
Mark Calvert then filed for associate circuit judge for Division 2 on the Republican ticket.
County filings listed in this story were as of 2 p.m. Tuesday because the Rolla Daily News’s printing deadline had been moved up earlier than normal.
To determine a candidate’s position on the ballot, many candidates, mostly incumbents, signed a list at the county clerk's office Monday morning and then held their place in line — either by themselves or by a representative — so they could be first on the ballot for their races when they filed at 8 a.m. Tuesday.

State filings
Congressman Jason Smith, who is from Salem, but filed with a P.O. Box address of Cape Girardeau, was the first person to file at the secretary of state’s office for the Eighth Congressional District seat. According to the secretary of state’s office website, he filed at 8:32 a.m. Tuesday as a Republican.
At 10:24 a.m. Barbara Stocker, of Silva, filed for the Democratic primary.
Then at 12:43 p.m. Doug Enyart, of Piedmont, filed as a Constitution Party candidate.
In the 16th state Senatorial District, Republican Dan Brown, of Rolla,  filed to keep his seat. He did so at 10:03 a.m. Republican Bernard (Bernie) Mowinski, of Sunrise Beach, also filed for the seat at 3:17 p.m.
In the 62nd House District, Bruce Sassmann, of Bland, filed at 8:57 a.m. and incumbent Tom Hurst, of St. Thomas, filed at 12:52 p.m. Both filed as Republicans.
Incumbent Keith Frederick, a Republican from Rolla, filed to keep his seat in the 121st House District. at 2:33 p.m.
In the 142nd House District, incumbent Robert Ross, of Eunice, filed at 10:13 a.m. as a Republican.
There is no current representative for the 120th District. Smith last held the seat until he was elected to Congress last year.
In the 120th House District, Democrat Robert Mesger, of Sullivan, filed at 10:11 a.m. Republican Shawn Sisco, of Rolla, filed at 10:04 a.m. and Republican Jason Chipman, of St. James, filed at 12:04 p.m.
On the same day as the Aug. 5 primary election, Gov. Jay Nixon has called for a special election to take place to fill the vacant 120th District seat. That person, after being sworn in, will serve in the state House until the candidate who wins the August primary and subsequently the November general election is sworn in. That possibly could be the same individual.
Sisco was chosen last week as the Republican nominee for the special election.
Candidates for state and Congressional offices showing up Tuesday in Jefferson City took part in a random drawing to determine whose name shows up first on the August primary ballot.
All county political party committee candidates, who represent various townships and wards, must file during this same period.
Filing runs through March 25.