Tuesday was the first day that candidates could file for several offices up for election in April and already, there are races forming.

Tuesday was the first day that candidates could file for several offices up for election in April and already, there are races forming.
At Rolla City Hall, Jimmy Dale Williams, Monty Jordan and Michael Doan were the first to file for Rolla city offices Tuesday morning at 8 a.m.
Williams filed to retain his Ward 5 council seat.
Jordan, an incumbent, is being challenged by Michael Doan for the two-term council seat for Ward 1.
Other filings as of 3:30 p.m. Tuesday were:
Anthony M. "Tony" Bahr, who is currently a Ward 6 council member, was the only person to file for mayor. The mayor serves a four-year term.
James T. Crump, the incumbent, filed to keep his seat as municipal judge.
Additionally, Brendon J. Fox, who was appointed, filed to retain his seat as city prosecuting attorney.
Both the municipal judge and prosecuting attorney serve two-year terms.
On the council, incumbent Jonathan C. Hines is being challenged by Stephen Peterson for the one-year unexpired term in Ward 1.
Matthew R. Miller filed for the Ward 2 council seat.
Incumbent Don Morris declared his candidacy to keep his seat as a Ward 4 council member.
And Walter L. Bowe III, who was appointed earlier this year to a Ward 6 council seat after Fran Mazanec resigned, filed to keep his seat for a two-year term.
The terms of Steve Leonard, Ward 2 council member, and Kelly Long, ward 3 council representative, also expire this April. There is also seat available for a one-year unexpired term in Ward 6.

Other municipal offices
Nobody filed for Newburg city offices as of Tuesday at 3 p.m. The City of Newburg has three openings for offices — a two-year term for mayor and two two-year terms for alderman, one in each of the wards. The terms of Mayor James Poucher and Aldermen Bill Stines and Scott Russell, who replaced Alyson Garvey, all expire in April.
In Doolittle, the terms of mayor and three aldermen are expiring this April and all four incumbents in those positions filed Tuesday to retain their seats.
Mayor Paul Smith filed to keep his seat as did Ward 1 Alderman Ron Bramlett, Ward 2 Alderwoman Zelma Smith and Ward 3 Alderman Roy Stevenson.
Aldermen and the mayor each serve two-year terms in Doolittle.
In Edgar Springs, there is one alderman seat from the North Ward and one alderman seat from the South Ward available for filing.
As of 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, the only candidate to file was Phil Scruggs for the South Ward seat. According to City Administrator Paula James, Scruggs has been serving as a "fill in" for a North Ward representative for past one and a half years because that person has cancer. "Technically he is from the South Ward," James said.

School boards
For the Rolla Board of Education, four people filed for three open seats Tuesday morning. As of 3 p.m. Tuesday, the three incumbents whose seats are up for election filed — Tony Froehlich, Jane Haskell and Keith Strassner. Rodney Southard also filed for a seat.
The positions available are for three-year terms.
In the Newburg R-2 School District, two people, an incumbent and a newcomer, filed to serve on the district's board of education. The people who filed as of 3 p.m. Tuesday were James Macormic, incumbent, and Nita Mihlfeld.
There are three positions available and the terms are for three years each.
The terms of Macormic, Kent Burke and Glenn Suschanke Jr. expire in April.
No declarations of candidacy were made for the Phelps County R-3 School Board of Education Tuesday.