Bahr, Eudaly declare candidacy for mayor after two days of filing

Two current Rolla City Council members have declared their candidacy for mayor as of Wednesday and the current mayor told the Rolla Daily News Wednesday that he will not challenge them.
According to an email from Rolla City Clerk Carol Daniels, Ward 6 Councilman Anthony M. “Tony” Bahr and Ward 3 Councilwoman Susan J. Eudaly have declared their candidacy for the April 8, 2014, municipal election.
Current Mayor Bill Jenks III, who is serving his second term in the position, will not run for re-election.
“I’m going to miss it,” he told the Daily News. “I’ve really enjoyed it.”
Jenks said working with all the employees of the City of Rolla has been a rewarding experience, and it is what he has enjoyed the most of what he described as a “pretty demanding job.”
“We have really got hard workers in the City of Rolla,” he said. “It is phenomenal what they can accomplish.”
Jenks will finish his second four-year term in April, and he said he thought about not running again for a long time before coming to a decision.
“It’s been in the mill for quite a while,” he said.
Working at his insurance company, being a husband and having other interests and obligations besides city government has resulted in a fulfilling life, yet one that can be stressful, too.
“It’s a tough balancing act,” the mayor said.
In addition to mayor, the offices of municipal judge and city attorney as well as eight seats on the city council are up for election this April.
Other candidates who have filed for city offices as of Wednesday at 5 p.m. are as follows:
Municipal judge — James T. Crump (incumbent)
City prosecuting attorney — Brendon J. Fox, who currently holds the seat. He was appointed earlier this year to fill the unexpired term of Robert J. “Jeff” Stoltz  who resigned to move away from the city.
Ward 1 council member for one-year unexpired term — Jonathan C. Hines, incumbent, and Stephen Peterson.
Ward 1 council member for two-year term —  Monty Jordan (incumbent) and Michael Doan
Ward 2 council member — Matthew R. Miller
Ward 3 council member — Kelly Long (incumbent)
Ward 4 council member — Don Morris (incumbent)
Ward 5 council member — Jimmy Dale Williams (incumbent)
Ward 6 council member for two-year term — Walter L. Bowe, III, who was appointed earlier this year to a Ward 6 council seat after Fran Mazanec resigned.
Ward 6 council member for one-year unexpired term — None.
Candidates have until Jan. 21 to file for city offices.