Miner senior LB Emesih named Defensive Player of the Year.

Missouri S&T senior linebacker Chris Emesih was named Wednesday as the "Defensive Player of the Year" in the Great Lakes Valley Conference for the 2013 season, heading a group of 11 Miners named to the league's all-conference football team.

Emesih, one of three members of the Miner defense to land first team honors, finished the year ranked among the GLVC leaders in tackles with 100 and added two quarterback sacks and an interception in a year where the Miners finished second to conference champion Indianapolis in total defense, allowing just 304.9 yards per game. S&T is currently ranked 14th in total defense in NCAA Division II at the close of the regular season.

Emesih was joined on the first team by defensive backs Mark Hopkins and Will Brown. Hopkins finished the season with 63 tackles and a team-high four interceptions, a mark that ranked second in the GLVC. Brown, who ended up the year with 42 tackles from his cornerback position, led the GLVC with 22 pass breakups, while adding an interception and two quarterback sacks.

The Miners had six individuals earn second team honors which included three more players from the defensive unit. Defensive end

Dan Mauszycki, who led S&T with 13 tackles for a loss and six sacks among his 36 tackles on the year was on that team along with defensive tackle Eddie Rascon, who finished with 32 tackles and five sacks.

The third member of the defense named to the second team was linebacker Chris Horn, who finished second on the team in tackles with 65 and had three interceptions.

S&T's offense also had three second team picks in offensive linemen Forrestal Hickman and Ryan Grigsby along with wide receiver Melvin Stovall. S&T's offense averaged 372.5 yards per game this season and 153.6 on the ground thanks to the work of the two linemen on the left side of the line, while Stovall ended up with 66 receptions for 712 yards and five touchdowns to lead the Miners in all of those categories.

Stovall's 66 receptions, the most ever by a first-year player at Missouri S&T, were also second in the GLVC to Indianapolis' Reece Horn's 67.

The Miners also had a pair of honorable mention selections in cornerback Sean Martin, who had 48 tackles and three interceptions during the year, and placekicker Adam Peden, who went 25-of-26 on extra point attempts and 11-of-17 on his field goal tries, including a GLVC-record 47-yard field goal in a September win over Wisconsin-LaCrosse.

Indianapolis took all of the other major awards for the year, as Klay Fiechter landed the league's top offensive and special teams player awards and linebacker Derrick Bryant was chosen as the GLVC's top freshman. UIndy's head coach, Bob Bartolomeo, was named as the league's "Coach of the Year."

Missouri S&T finished its first season under head coach Tyler Fenwick with a record of 6-5 and tied for second in the GLVC with a 5-2 mark.

First Team
QB - Connor Barthel, UINDY
RB - Braxton Shelton, SJC
RB - Garrett White, TSU
WR - Dallas Grier, TSU
WR - Reece Horn, UINDY
WR - Greg Johnson, UINDY
HB - Tyler Callaghan, SJC
OL - Hayden Janney, UINDY
OL - Eric Stone, TSU
OL - Chris Massaro, UINDY
OL - Richie Rebmann, MCK
OL - Greg Wedow, UINDY
DL - Vince Maida, UINDY
DL - Brett Pearman, MCK
DL - Nic Abbate, TSU
DL - Lee Campbell, UINDY
DL - Jeremy Dockery, TSU
LB - Chris Emesih, S&T
LB - Joel Wimbley, SJC
LB - Todd Hacker, UINDY
LB - Gary Yeoman, SJC
LB - Matt Bell, TSU
DB - Will Brown, S&T
DB - Andre Smith, UINDY
DB - Mark Hopkins, S&T
DB - Tremaine Millender, TSU
Special Teams
K - Scott Miller, UINDY
P - Jacob Lamp, TSU
RS - Jeff Ward, KWC
Second Team
QB - Billy VandeMerkt, SJC
RB - Thomas Cook Jr, WJC
RB - Kobi Cook, SJC
RB - Ryan Herring, MCK
*WR - Dewayne Gatti, MCK
*WR - Cameron James, MCK
*WR - Melvin Stovall, S&T
*WR - Julian Walker, SJC
*WR - Alphonso Hines, SJC
HB - Jeff Ward, KWC
OL - Ayoola Oyetunji, MCK
OL - Jordan Bedan, UINDY
OL - Forrestal Hickman, S&T
OL - Ryan Grigsby, S&T
OL - Trent Hall, SJC
OL - Brandon Klewer, WJC
*DL - Eddie Rascon, S&T
*DL - Dan Mausczycki, S&T
*DL - Mike Philips, UINDY
*DL - Cameron Ford, MCK
*DL - Lucky Baar, MCK
*DL - Eric Heinzman, SJC
LB - Derrick Bryant, UINDY
LB - Chris Horn, S&T
LB - Ike Onike, QU
LB - Connor Nagel, TSU
LB - George Hill, MCK
*DB - Koby Orris, UINDY
*DB - Jessie Pourch, SJC
*DB - Jamison Wilson, MCK
*DB - Drew Byrd, SJC
*DB - Romary Corneille, SJC
*DB - Austin Zoda, TSU
Special Teams
K - Derek Koon, TSU
*P - Scott Miller, UINDY
*P - Pavel Polochanin, UINDY
*RS - Cameron James, MCK
*RS - Tremaine Millender, TSU
*-Extra player due to tie
Third Team
Offense QB - Isaac Fisher, MCK
QB - Nick Lonergan, QU
QB - Conrad Schottel, TSU
HB - Joe Bell, UINDY
HB - Greg Eilerman, QU
OL - Brandon Good, SJC
OL - Kyle Lomprez, QU
DL - Cody French, SJC
DL - Tyler Reidl, QU
DB - Sean Martin, S&T
DB - Kevin Farris, KWC
DB - Jeff Daverne, QU
DB - Quinlan Riser, WJC
DB - Jack Bissonnett, WJC
Special Teams
K - Gavin Voss, SJC
K - Adam Peden, S&T

Offensive Player of the Year: Klay Fiechter, Indianapolis.
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Emesih, S&T.
Special Teams Player of the Year: Klay Fiechter, Indianapolis.
Freshman of the Year: Derrick Bryant, Indianapolis.
Coach of the Year: Bob Bartolomeo, Indianapolis.