The Rolla Daily News - Rolla, MO
  • S&T M-Club Awards Banquet

  • Trio of Miners win 2013 Bullman Award.
    • email print
  • A trio of Missouri S&T standouts were named as the recipients of the 2013 Gale Bullman Awards Tuesday night at the annual M-Club Awards Banquet held at Havener Center.
    Jennifer Costello, who was selected as the Capital One Academic All-America of the Year in volleyball for the 2012 season and a two-time selection to the Great Lakes Valley Conference's all-league first team, was the women's recipient of this year's honor. Costello, a setter, also earned the GLVC's Scholar-Athlete of the Year award in the sport following a season in which she also earned all-region honors from the American Volleyball Coaches Association. She finished her career as the school record holder with 4,361 assists.
    The men's award was shared by Andrew Schranck from the swimming team and Spencer Brinkmeyer from the soccer team. Schranck won the 200-yard butterfly at the New South Intercollegiate Swimming Championships, his fourth career title in the meet and earned two honorable mention All-America awards at this year's NCAA Division II Championships. In his four seasons of competition with the Miners, Schranck earned 21 All-America awards .
    Brinkmeyer, a defender for the Miner soccer team, was named the National Soccer Coaches Association of America's All-Midwest region squad in 2012 and was a three-time All-GLVC selection. He also earned academic all-district honors for the 2012 season as well, while on the field, he anchored a defensive unit that held their opponents to only 13 goals in 16 games and posted nine shutouts.
    The Bullman Award, named for the university's former director of athletics and long-time football coach, is the most prestigious award given to a Missouri S&T student-athlete. It is traditionally given to a senior student-athlete who has displayed outstanding character and excelled both on the playing field and in the classroom.
    S&T head volleyball coach Jason Holt, who guided the Lady Miners to their second consecutive GLVC West Division championship and to the semifinals of the GLVC Tournament, was selected as the M-Club "Coach of the Year".
    The 2012-13 most valuable players for each sport were also named; the winners are listed below:
    Basketball (Men): Mudi Eruteya
    Basketball (Women): Hailee Parks
    Cross Country (Men): Aaron Viets
    Cross Country (Women): Alyson Smith
    Football: Smook Thomas
    Soccer (Men): Spencer Brinkmeyer
    Soccer (Women): Colleen Lewis
    Softball: Kaylea Smith
    Swimming: Jacob Dole
    Track & Field (Men): Ryan McGuire; Adriel Hawkins
    Track & Field (Women): Mary Ann Bradshaw
    Volleyball: Jocelyn DeMotte; Julie Meyer
    The most valuable player for baseball will be announced at a later date as its season is still in progress.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar