No change in board officers

Clay Austin and Carol Fletcher, both incumbents to the Newburg R-II School District Board of Education, were sworn in Monday evening during a reorganization meeting.

Board secretary Mary Hinkel conducted the oath of office to the members, who will serve three-year terms.

Both Austin and Fletcher retained their seats in last week’s general municipal election. Fletcher received 120 votes and Austin got 112 votes. They both won over challenger Dennis Mesplay, who had 77 votes cast for him. There were also three write-in votes in the election. There were no votes casts for school board members in the district that lies in Pulaski County.

The board certified the election results during the meeting.

After the oath of office, the board voted on officers for the new school year, but there was no change in leadership made.

James Macormic will remain the board president. Macormic and Austin were the only members nominated for the position. Macormic received four votes and Austin got three votes.

Austin was the only nominee for board vice president, a position he was currently serving in.

Hinkel will remain the board secretary since no other nominations were made for that position.

Additionally, Kent Burke will continue to serve as board treasurer, a position he also held previously.

The board’s next meeting will be Thursday, April 18.