School board elects Packard as president

The Rolla Board of Education Thursday night elected Jim Packard to preside for the next 12 months. The board named Jamie Myers as the president-elect.

Both men were returned to the board without an election Tuesday. As their terms came to an end, they filed with no challengers. In such a case, state statute requires no election.

Board secretary Nancy McWhorter swore in Packard and Myers Thursday night.

In related action, Tony Froehlich was named the board treasurer.

Board members also divided up their committee assignments, most of them continuing to serve on the groups on which they were already representing the school board. Here’s a list:

A+ Schools: Keith Strassner;

RISE: Jeanne Cavender and Greg Stratman;

CORE: Tony Froehlich;

Crisis Management: Packard, Myers and Froehlich;

ESEA Title I: Assistant Superintendent Craig Hounsom;

Audit: Froehlich, Strassner and Packard;

Missouri School Boards Association delegate and alternate: Packard and Cavender;

TAB: Jane Haskell;

Residency Waiver: Cavender, Haskell and Hounsom.

The board took up a light agenda in the public meeting following the closed session.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Aaron Zalis reminded the board the Patron Insight firm will conduct a telephone survey of 375 people beginning April 24 and continuing to the end of the month.

Zalis said an online version would be available, too.

Seven “hot button issues” will be explored on the survey, as they were on the last survey.

Results will be presented about two weeks after the survey is completed.

Although the Teacher of the Year announcement was made at the last meeting, a formal presentation of certificates was made Thursday night by board President Jeanne Cavender before the board reorganized.

Jamie Cantrell is the district’s Teacher of the Year representative in the state contest. The family and consumer science teacher and head of the Bulldog Preschool Program, she was nominated by Rolla High School.

Nominees from other schools were also honored at the board meeting. They are Amanda Almany, fifth grade teacher, nominated by Rolla Middle School, and Katie Curtis, nominated by Wyman Elementary School.

After reorganization, Packard noted the retirements of Nancy Lieber, administrative secretary at the high school, who began employment with the district on Aug. 24, 1983, and Marshia Calicotte, RHS cafeteria employee since Jan. 6, 2003. RHS business education teacher Jackie Marling, who started Aug. 14, 2000, is also retiring.