Pair of St. James seniors among area players named to Missouri Basketball Coaches Association All-State Team.

Seniors M.J. Buschmann of the St. James High School girls' basketball team and Jack Mueller of the St. James boys' squad were named to the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association's All-State Team, it was recently announced.
Buschmann, a 5-10 senior forward, helped lead the Lady Tigers to the fifth Final Four appearance in program history. The Lady Tigers finished 26-5 and defeated North Tech in the Missouri Class 3 State Tournament Third-Place Game.
Coming back from a season-ending knee surgery as a junior, Buschmann bounced back to average 16.6 points, 5.8 rebounds and 3.8 steals for St. James while shooting 46 percent from the field and 31 percent from three-point range.
Mueller, a 6-7 senior forward, led the Tigers to a 24-4 overall record. St. James lost to state semifinalist Fatima in the Class 3 District 9 Tournament boys' championship game.
St. James was 21-1 before Mueller went down with an ankle injury late in the season. He returned for the district semifinal and final games, although not at full strength. He finished with averages of 16.1 points, 10.0 rebounds and 4.1 blocks.
Several Frisco League players were also named to the coaches' all-state team, including: Iberia junior Darrien Dickey to the boys' Class 2 squad; Crocker freshman Lindsay Medlin and Laquey junior Maura Skidmore to the girls' Class 2 squad, and Dixon senior Hunter Yoakum on the girls' Class 3 squad.
From the Four Rivers Conference New Haven junior Rachel Steinhoff was selected to the girls' Class 2 squad; sophomore Cullen VanLeer to the boys' Class 4 team; Sullivan junior Taylor Lucas to the girls' Class 4 team, and Hermann juniors Karinne Lane and Jamie Gleeson to the girls' Class 3 squad.
Players from the Ozark Conference honored included Springfield Hillcrest senior Austin Petry on the boys' Class 4 team; West Plains senior Andi Haney and Hillcrest sophomore Kelsie Cleeton on the girls' Class 4 team; Springfield Parkview senior Erik Durham and Springfield Kickapoo senior Chris Ward on the boys' Class 5 team, and Parkview junior Aubrey Buckley on the girls' Class 5 squad.
Here is the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association's 2012-13 Class 3 All-State Team:
Martavian Payne, sr., Madison Prep
Nick Carlos, sr., Southern Boone
Anthony Virdue, sr., Lutheran North
Kyan Parham, sr., Charleston
Tyrell Thirkield, sr., Lafayette Co.
Shane Williams, sr., Mt. Vernon
Kevin Baker, sr., Madison Prep
Patrick Schneiders, sr., Fatima
Brian Kaufman, sr., St. Pius X KC
Jonathan Baker, sr., Maryville
Kyler Ng, sr., Seneca
Jaelen Acklin, Jr., Mtn. View Liberty
Kyle Baker, sr., KC O'Hara
Willie Jimerson, so., New Madrid Co.
Brian Patterson, sr., Doniphan
Derek Smith, sr., Highland
Khalid Hagens, sr., Maplewood
Justin Thomas, sr., Whitfield
Foye Okuokun, sr., John Burroughs
Jack Mueller, sr., St. James
Coach of the Year: Ryan Robertson, Fatima
Player of the Year: Martavian Payne, Madison Prep
Lauren Orr, sr., Lutheran St. Charles
Ashli Lykins, jr., Cameron
Stephanie Anderson, sr., Whitfield
Elsie Greenwood, sr., Hamilton
Tori Cole, sr., Twin Rivers
Lexi Morris, so., Clearwater
Alli Ball, jr., Principia
Khalia Miller, jr., North Tech
Karinne Lane, jr., Hermann
Sydney Deeken, jr., California
M.J. Buschmann, sr., St. James
Morgan Kensinger, sr., Fair Grove
Lakin Simmerman, jr., Ash Grove
Hunter Yoakum, sr., Dixon
Leann Polowy, jr., Blair Oaks
Benesha Childress, sr., New Madrid
Madi Johnson, jr., Ash Grove
Melia Richardson, so., Cameron
Lexi Williams, sr., O'Hara
Jamie Gleeson, jr., Hermann
Coach of the Year: Matt Wenck, Cameron
Player of the Year: Lauren Orr, Lutheran St. Charles