Disaster declaration will provide additional federal assistance to communities affected by record-setting drought

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill praised an announcement today by the U.S. Department of Agriculture that several more counties in Missouri will receive federal resources in the aftermath of the severe drought that affected farmers and ranchers across the state.

Counties designated as disaster areas include: Barry, Benton, Camden, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Lawrence, Newton, Polk, St. Clair and Stone.

Recently, McCaskill cosponsored legislation (S. 141) that would provide disaster assistance for Missouri’s ranchers after last summer’s historic drought—the most recent of her efforts to pass this much-needed assistance. McCaskill has also helped lead a bipartisan effort, along with fellow Missouri Senator Roy Blunt, successfully urging the Army Corps of Engineers to take action to ensure continued navigation along the Mississippi River, after concerns that low river levels might hurt the region’s economy.

Last year, McCaskill helped pass the bipartisan Farm Bill to support agriculture jobs, reauthorize essential disaster assistance programs, strengthen resources for family farms and ranches, and reduce the national deficit by more than $23 billion. The U.S. House of Representatives failed to act on the Farm Bill, instead forcing an extension of current policies.

Farmers seeking assistance should contact their local FSA office.