Four new council members were elected to the Phelps County University of Missouri Extension Council following elections held countywide from Jan. 28 to Feb. 1.

Josh Ratliff was elected to represent the Rolla District. Ratliff, who received 35 votes, was one of three candidates who vied for the one open seat.

The other candidates who ran for the Rolla District seat were as follows: Delaine Litman-Hohenfeldt, who received 30 votes, and Francis “Frank” Chandler Furman, with 18 votes.

In the East County District, three people were elected to seats: Sarah Farmer, Jon Hartley and Fred Mussig. In this district, four people ran for three open seats.

Candidate James Standfast did not earn a seat,

The vote totals for each of the candidates in the East District is as follows: Hartley got 23 votes, Farmer and Mussig each received 15, and Standfast raked in nine votes.

The UM Extension aims to extend the education and information resources available through the University of Missouri to members of the local community.

Council members help in this process by guiding the direction that programming takes in the county.

The Phelps County Extension Council meets at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of the month at the extension center. Meetings are open to the public.

The Phelps County UM Extension office has professional staff available to assist people with questions in the fields of horticulture, family finance, health and nutrition, business development and youth development.

Requests for information can be directed to Phelps County University of Missouri Extension, 200 North Main St., Rolla, MO 65401, by phone at 573-458-6260, or by email at