Races form on city councils, school boards

There will be races for council seats in four of Rolla's six wards in the April 2 municipal election.

Tuesday was the last day for candidates to file for offices up for election, which include various city councils and school boards, the hospital board and the emergency services board. Candidates could file until 5 p.m.

In the City of Rolla, positions up for election are one council representative in each of the city's six wards.

There will be two-way races for council members in Wards 3-6.

Candidates who filed in those wards are listed as follows:

Ward 3 — Susan J. Eudaly, incumbent, and David B. Nenninger;

Ward 4 — Louis J. Magdits, incumbent, and Mike Samaras;

Ward 5 — Brian Woolley and Carrolyn Bolin, incumbent; and

Ward 6 — Mark W. Walburg and Fran Mazanec, incumbent.

Only one candidate filed each in Ward 1 and Ward 2. They were Rhonda Sue Myers, Ward 1, and Gregory M. Sawyer, Ward 2. Sawyer is an incumbent but Myers is not.

Michael Gosnell had filed as a Rolla City Council candidate in Ward 3, but withdrew his candidacy on Jan. 11.

On the Newburg City Council, the only positions open for filing were one council member from each of Newburg's two wards.

Two individuals filed for the Ward 1 seat — Dallas McNew and Christopher G. Davis. Incumbent Doreen Moore, who was appointed to the Ward 2 seat last year, did not file.

The only candidate to file for the Ward 2 council seat in Newburg was incumbent Randy Brinkley Sr.

There are three seats up for election on the Doolittle City Council — one from each of the city's three wards.

Bill Martin, incumbent, was the only candidate to file for Ward 1 council representative.

For the Ward 2 council seat, Bradley Hilton, incumbent, will face off against Earl Link.

Sherry Pierce, incumbent, will face off against Garry DuHadway Sr. for the Ward 3 city council seat.

In Edgar Springs, the positions up for election this April are mayor, one council member from the North Ward and one council representative from the South Ward.

No candidate filed for mayor as of the deadline Tuesday, meaning Edgar Springs's next mayor will be chosen by write-in vote. Incumbent Mayor Kurt Ross did not file.

In the North Ward, Georgia Lucas, incumbent, will run against Amanda Melton.

In the South Ward, Caroline Dunham, incumbent, will face off against Leonard Melton.

School, other boards

For the Rolla Board of Education, only two individuals filed for two open board seats. They were incumbents Jim Packard and Jamie Myers.

On the Newburg R-II School Board, three people filed for two open seats. Clay Austin and Carol Fletcher, both incumbents, filed as did Dennis Mesplay.

Filings for the Phelps County R-III School Board were not available by press time.

Phelps County voters also will vote for board members on the Phelps County Regional Medical Center Board of Trustees and Phelps County Emergency Services Board (PCESB).

Incumbent Dr. John Park was the only person to file for the hospital board. Only one seat is up for election on the hospital board.

On the PCESB, three people filed for four seats up for election. Two of the candidates must live in District One of Phelps County and the other two candidates must live in District Two.

The three individuals who filed — Steve Zap, Stoney A. Byrne and Randy Barr — all filed in District Two.